RSS for Comments

RSS for Entries

Key aspect of auto insurance laws in Florida

Florida like the rest of the 50 states in the country has its own set of insurance laws which must be followed by all the citizens who drive on its roads. Firstly, vehicle owners should purchase auto insurance only from those providers who are authorized to sell insurance in Florida. Secondly, those who move from another state to Florida are not allowed to hold on to the same policy while driving on the Florida roads. In fact, everyone must carry sufficient insurance coverage as mandated by the laws in Florida. The specific limits which are mandatory for vehicle owners in Florida are $10,000 for physical injury to one person in a car accident, $10,000 for property damage during car accident as per the liability on the guilty driver and $20,000 for physical injury to more than one person in the car accident.

The auto insurance laws in Florida also include a Financial Responsibility Law. As per this law, all the drivers in the state of Florida should carry sufficient insurance coverage for a few more risks. These risks include DUI citation and revocation of license as a result, car accident that results in injuries and involves the insured driver, suspension of the license of the driver due to too many points brought up against the driver and revocation of license for habitual violation of traffic laws.

Also, the rental cars operating in Florida must have the minimum protection as mandated by the insurance laws in the state. If the credit card of the insured driver or the insurance policy for the car doesn’t cover the rental for the car, the rental agreement copy must be present in the vehicle all the time. This copy should also highlight the insurance coverage that is in place for the rental car. As per the laws in Florida car rental companies have to offer the minimum coverage for liability insurance and this has to be offered at a reasonable price to the customer. Florida being a no fault state means that under the no-fault conditions, personal injury protection doesn’t have to be purchased or carried by the drivers.

The car insurance for comprehensive coverage and collision coverage aren’t required either. There isn’t any provision that mandates insurance against accidents caused by uninsured motorists. Although these provisions aren’t really mandated by law, they are recommended for the sake of the drivers especially when trapped in unforeseen situations.

Similar Posts:

This entry was posted on Monday, February 28th, 2011 and is filed under Auto Insurance. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply