RSS for Comments

RSS for Entries

Wyoming Car Insurance (WY)

Many drivers across the United States operate uninsured vehicles. On top of that, there are many drivers who operate underinsured vehicles because they are unaware of their state’s laws and regulations pertaining to auto insurance. The laws in Wyoming, for example, differ greatly from some other states in the United States. It is important that you make sure you have an up-to-date understanding of your state’s auto insurance laws to avoid penalties, fines, having your vehicle impounded, or imprisonment.

Wyoming Car Insurance Minimum Requirements

In the state of Wyoming, all drivers are required to keep proof of auto insurance in their car at all times. This comes in handy when pulled over by a police officer who asks for registration and insurance. However, do not think you will get away with driving an uninsured car just because you have never been pulled over. In Wyoming, all insured cars are kept in a database that is accessible by police officers. If they run your license plates and see that your car is not on the insured database, you will receive a notification in which you have seven days to prove that you have insurance.

Wyoming Car Insurance Coverage & Liability

If you ever find yourself in a situation where you have to provide proof of insurance, you better be confident that you have adequate coverage. Each state has different rules in reference to liability insurance and coverage. In Wyoming, drivers have to have bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per person and up to $50,000 per accident. In addition, you have to have property damage liability coverage of at least $20,000 to cover the costs of vehicle damage in the event of an accident.

Wyoming Car Insurance Laws & Regulations

If you are caught in Wyoming driving a vehicle without adequate auto insurance coverage, or without adhering to the financial responsibility law, you will be fined between $300 and $800. Even if it is just your first offense, you could end up going to prison for up to six months. If it is the second time you have been caught driving without auto insurance, you could get a fine of up to $1,500 and face more prison time.

Average Wyoming Car Insurance Premiums

The average auto insurance premium for 2010 is down 2% from what it was in 2009. Now, the average driver in Wyoming pays a premium of just $1,393 for car insurance. This average may sound relatively high, but not when compared with the average car insurance premium for the entire United States, which is $1,538. When you are paying less than the national average, you know it’s a good price.

There is really no reason that someone driving in Wyoming should avoid getting auto insurance to cover their vehicle. The penalties for driving without insurance are extremely severe and the average car insurance premium is lower than what most people pay across the country. Cheap auto insurance is already readily available, even without shopping around. However, if you want to get car insurance for a cheaper than cheap price, enter your zip code in the box above and find the best deals for cheap auto insurance in Wyoming.

Similar Posts:

Share
This entry was posted on Friday, January 21st, 2011 and is filed under Auto Insurance. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply